Day 52: Being Self Reliant

sunshine4 Usually in Christmas, we give a gift card to an instructor at the gym, it is a way to say thank you for a year of great workouts, for being so dedicated, friendly and responsible. A friend and I collect money for that during December.

One day she was totally upset because someone told her that he didn’t want to be part of the donations: “Why would I want to do that, if he has a salary anyway?.”, was the upsetting answered received. Casually I had just spoken to another member, and she wrote a check for $50 in that moment, so I told my friend to cheer up because of that large contribution, but that didn’t seem to happen.

This kind of situations really kept me thinking:
“Why some people focus in the bad things that happen, instead if the good ones?

Do bad things weight more than good ones, so we need more good things than bad to balance?

Is anything we can do to let go and forget what upset us?”

And that is how I decided to write for a year, for 52 weeks I wanted to focus on the bright side of daily events, I wanted to create this habit, as Anne Frank wrote in her diary: “I do not think of all the misery, but of the beauty that still remains”. “I have found that in every misfortune there is always some beauty left – in nature, sunshine, freedom, in yourself; these can all help you. If you only look for it, you will discover more and more happiness and regain your balance.”

Today is the week 52, and what I found was that mostly it is the attitude, our perspective or way of thinking what counts, we can’t control all the events in our life, like the economy and the weather, but we can choose to stay inside or bring an umbrella if it is raining. We need to be self-conscious and choose to see the good that still remains, and find the resources that keep us motivated or in a positive light, we need to be creative and even keep us self motivated.

My post number 52 also means that it is my last one, the previous ones will still remain, is only that from now on I won’t be adding new material.

I want to say thank you for following me, I appreciate and I’m really grateful for those who have been with me during this journey, thank you so much for all your likes and comments and specially for being there, reading the posts. Hopefully each Friday I really brought some sunshine to your day. A special thank you goes to my husband too, for helping me with this project.

I also want to apologize if I didn’t happen to answer some comments, this is something I didn’t get to master, since they sometimes were classified as spam, and I had some trouble differentiating them.

It has been a pleasure seeing how something that was just an idea is now tangible, doing something just for pleasure, something that brings happiness, doing it just for fun, being constructive, is very self motivating. Now is your turn, what would you do to make yourself happy?

sunset5I will take more time to continue reading great books. Hopefully a year was enough to set my mind into a positive attitude.

Hasta La Vista.

Joyce

This entry was posted in Personal development and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share With Me:

