The Gratefulness and Happiness Diary

suuny grassSix months ago my mom had an accident, she fell from a height of about 10 feet, broke her ankle and a vertebra. After a double surgery, three months of bed rest and physical therapy she is walking again, and how we value that she is alive. We value that she can walk and we value that she was able to visit us again as every summer.

Often is not until we face adversity, that we realize how lucky or blessed we are. Why do we have to walk the rough path to value the smooth shady one?. I don’t know, but I believe most of us are like this.

I read about having a gratefulness diary a couple of years ago. The idea behind writing this diary is recognizing the importance and value of those small things that we take for granted. Many authors point that writing is a great way to process our feelings, when things are hard to say, or we feel hurt, is good to write things down to get over those feelings.

The difference with a gratefulness diary, is that here we will focus on things or events that we feel lucky to have, so that when times come in which we feel blue, we can start reading about those things we are grateful for, and hopefully we can start having a warm feeling of happiness in our heart. In our gratefulness diary we can also write about moments when we really feel fulfilled and radiant.

This reminds me a habit I had when I was a teenager, I used to fill a box with items that remind me of happy times, valentine cards, party invites, movie tickets, and so on. Having a box of memories or writing about happy events, make us focus on moments where we feel successful, important or positive, is a way to create a selective memory of events we want to remember.

I am grateful because I am healthy,gratitude final

I live in a free and safe country,

I have a loving family and my basic needs are met. …

What are you grateful for? 

This entry was posted in Personal development. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Gratefulness and Happiness Diary

  1. l0ve0utl0ud says:

    I like the idea of a gratefulness diary and kept one for some time. Now I keep a ‘one sentence diary’ where I write one sentence about each day – in a way, this one thing that I write about IS the thing I am grateful for, because it is the thing that has most marked my day.

    • joyce75 says:

      This sounds like a wonderful idea, I been planning of starting a diary, and maybe I’ll do it this way, thanks for the tip 🙂
      Joyce

Share With Me:

