Living a Succesful Life

success3 When I think in success, images of movie stars, singers, hosts of T.V. shows or news, and names of presidents come to my mind.

But giving it a second thought, I think nothing defines success better than this poem:

At Peace by Amado Nervo

As I approach my sunset, I bless you, Life,
because you never gave me neither unfilled hope,
nor unfair work, nor undeserved sorrow;

Because I see at the end of my rough journey
that I was the architect of my own destiny;
and if I extracted the sweetness or the bitterness of things,
it was because I put the sweetness or the bitterness in them:
when I planted rose bushes, I always harvested roses.

Certainly, winter is going to follow my youth:
Although you never promised me an eternal spring!

I found without a doubt long my nights of pain;
but you never promised that I’d only have good nights;and in exchange, I had some holy and serene….

I loved, I was loved, the sun caressed my face.
Life, you owe me nothing, Life, we are at peace!

I chose this poem for a recital in my second year of middle school. I selected it mainly because it is short, so I wouldn’t be on stage for a long time; but also because I loved its meaning. sunset1

The first time I read it, I thought:“I really want to feel this way when is my turn to go”. I think that success in life is feeling at peace when we pass away, feeling that we did what we were supposed to do, that we don’t need to come back for more, because we realized our dreams and we don’t need second chances.

I wish you success in everything you do.

This entry was posted in Personal development and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Living a Succesful Life

  1. l0ve0utl0ud says:

    Reading this poem made me cry! It has such a true message. Thank you so much for sharing it!

    • joyce75 says:

      You are welcome, I see it really touched your heart.
      Its true, each day we write our history, and at the end what really matters is that we are happy with the results.
      Thanks for reading.
      Joyce

Share With Me:

