US Transforming Ourselves and the Relationships That Matter Most, by Lisa OZ

I found this book at the gym a couple of years ago, and is not because they have a book or magazine section, I was just watching TV while running on the treadmill and there was a show: “The view”. They were interviewing Lisa because she lisa ozwas presenting her book. I can’t recall what was that she said but I checked it out from the library that same week.

I believe there are no coincidences, we meet people and concepts that we need to know. Anyway there was no way to know how deeply her ideas would impact my life.

The first time I read this book I liked the wisdom that I found here and there. Concepts like: “we must act from freedom, and to do this, choices have to exist”. Sometimes suffering is just the result that comes from our free will, or that: “Pain or discomfort is an element that let us know we need to change, because something is not what it should be”, make a lot of sense to me.

Definitively her personal stories reached me, I can reflect my own life in those situations, specially the need to value what I am doing, and to find something that stimulates and satisfies me while being a stay-at-home mom.

One thing I always try to avoid is talking about religion and God, but I totally agree with Lisa that regardless of what you believe and practice, if it inspires you to be a better person, if it gives you a reason to grow each day, if it helps you to be kinder to people and brings you joy, then it is working.

The most important thing that I realized after reading this book was that I have been sleep walking almost all my life. I have a daily agenda: drop the kids to school, go to the gym, get back home, prepare lunch, pick up the kids from school, feed them, supervise homework, take them to after school activities, well the list keeps going and going, and I know you already got the idea.
So, trying to keep it up, I would just do each activity lets say as fast as I could to cross it off the list; for example at the gym I used to take the class, cleaned up the space and leave.
As soon as I realized this, I decided to start to be more conscious of where I am and what I am doing. Now I can happily say that I know most of my classmates names, and a couple of nice friendships have blossomed.

I think that her last chapter integration, lovely summarizes the concepts that are described in detail trough the book.

This book was for me a great introduction to a new way of thinking, I started reading self-help books and doing yoga. I can say the title is true, you can really transform yourself and the relationships that matter most, specially when you engage with presence. Connection leads to a joyful and meaningful life.

Hopefully you will enjoy it as much as I did.

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share With Me:

