Make and keep those resolutions

A new year is just around the corner, and these days are the time when we stop and think in what we did, we didn’t, and what our goals will be. We frequently reflect and plan in what we will want to achieve next year.

I love beginnings, everyone is so optimistic and everything seems full of possibilities and opportunities. It’s so exiting to try new things when you are full of dreams and hopes…. The sad part, is that after some weeks most of us have stopped chasing our goals and by the end of the year we can’t hardly remember what we were focused on, so we just create a new list of resolutions and sometimes we write down again the ones we didn’t accomplish in the past. But what can we do to avoid this pitfall?.

I like resolutions, I believe they can be like stars guiding us, and for that to happen, I think that the most important part is to define them realistically.

English: Start of the 12th Annual U.S. Air For...

If my goal is to run a marathon by the end of the month but I have never run before, probably I need to talk to a coach to see if I’m not being so idealistic.

Another thing that can help in keeping your resolutions, is to be clear in the purpose, because that’s the fuel that will keep you going. Sometimes it can also lead you to a different goal, and it will still be a success.

I think a purpose is different from the goal because if I want to run a marathon with the purpose to loose some pounds, and at some point I realize that I enjoy hiking or biking instead, and I get to the weight I wanted that way, that’s fine too.

Finally, don’t forget to enjoy the journey in whatever it is that you are pursuing.

Going back to the example of running a marathon, it’s great to cross the finish line, and win a medal, which is the visible result of the effort, and time invested. Surely another marathon and more medals will come ahead, but the people who train with you, the ones that cheer you up so you don’t stop, or the ones who gave you tips when you had sore muscles are a very important part of your dream.

It’s amazing to get what you have worked hard for, but also, I’m sure that when we remember all the things we had to go through to get there, the memories that come to our mind are the ones that involve the team, the coach or persons that are by our side; the ones we couldn’t have done it without them.

Enjoy your planing, the travel and I hope that all your resolutions beny2come true.

I wish you a wonderful 2013.

This entry was posted in Personal development, Success and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Make and keep those resolutions

  1. Having a goal and accomplishing it is such a mood booster. Plus it gives you that something to strive for. I hope to make a list of new year’s resolutions and stick to them!

Share With Me:

