You, Me, Us.

A couple of months ago, my husband and I took our kids to their favorite museum, they love playing at the water table, creating art projects, playing restaurant and jumping inside the ball pit. I love spending time together as a family, but this trip became memorable because of a lovely book that one of my girls  brought and asked me to read it.

The book was called The Three Questions, based on a story by Leo Tolstoy, and is written by Jon J. Muth.

It talks about a kid named Nikolai, who has the following questions on his mind:

When is the best time to do things?,

Who is the most important one?, and

What is the right thing to do?.

At the beginning he tries to find the answers by asking to his friends what do they think about them, but the answers he got didn’t satisfy him. Is during that stormy afternoon while he was helping others, and with the help of a wise tortoise, that he understands that: “There is only one important time, and that time is now. The most important one is always the one you are with. And the most important thing is to do good for the one who is standing at your side. This is why we are here.”

I think this book has a great message, I totally fell in love with it since I truly believe that the most important time is now, because today has all the power and opportunity to shape our future and our relationships.

Consequently the most important thing is what is just happening around us, and the persons we are with. Is by keeping our focus in the present moment, that we have the perfect recipe for creating strong connections.

Finally, we are social creatures, and we can influence others and our environment. It’s by helping others that we stand out and make a difference wherever we go.

Actually, what I like the most about helping others is that if I have a talent, it is really effortless for me to give out a hand; while for the person receiving help, is a huge relief. For me, it costs so little, it’s not a big deal, is giving five minutes of my time to some one who will struggle for hours trying to figure out what I already know. Keeping this in mind is always my pleasure and I really feel happy, glad and good with myself when I have the opportunity to help someone.

help me

Hope you enjoyed this book review and thanks for stopping by.

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Share With Me:

