Being Grateful

Next week, the fourth Thursday in November, we will be celebrating Thanksgiving again in the United States. It’s a day for families and friends to get together for a special meal that often includes turkey, cranberry sauce, pumpkin pie and vegetables. For most of us is a day to give thanks for what we have.

Happy Thanksgiving

And actually is one of my favorite holidays, not only for the gathering and delicious food, but because it’s a time when I think about how fortunate I am to have all that I have and all that I’m able to do.

It reminds me to be grateful for the things that usually I take for granted, like being healthy, having a place to live, having food and commodities like cars, clothes, public schools. Of course I’m grateful for my family and friends, and even for having a cat or a beautiful weather; and usually, I can’t help feeling happy after I start giving thanks for all of this.

Is like when you just recover from an illness, say you got a cold and had to spend a day in bed. As soon as I get well, I realize how good it feels to be healthy and to be able to do all the things that I have planned. Sadly the week before I kind of didn’t acknowledge my well-being, I’m so used to wake up strong and healthy that it’s a given, and I usually take it for granted.

During our lifetime, we will always find things that are bigger and better: a car, a house, the neighborhood, the schools, and so on. But keeping my focus on the things that I have instead of the ones that I lack, gives me a sense of happiness and security. It makes me feel that I have a good life, that God is taking good care of me and that the things that I’m still missing will come at the right time.

So, if you are feeling sad or worried: “count your blessings”, that is, remind yourself about the things that you do have that make you feel special, lucky or grateful. After doing this, I usually feel better and full of hope that things are going to be alright. Maybe is that standing on the positive side of life makes it brighter.

Happy Thanksgiving if you celebrate this date too; and for those of you who live in another country, who might celebrate thanksgiving another date or even don’t know anything about it, just take a couple of minutes to think about the small little things that are so wonderful in your life and feel lucky and happy about having them.

Really, I always say that being grateful is a habit that should last all year-long.

Thank you for stopping by.

This entry was posted in Personal development and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share With Me:

