Tips For Success

The first thing that comes to my mind when I think about success, is not: “How I’m going to get what I want?”. But: “Why I want to do it?”.

Sydney 2000 Olympic Games Medals-1

Defining my objective is very important to keep me focused and interested on my goal, because when I’m struggling with everyday activities and I start to feel that what I’m pursing is not such a good idea and the thought of quitting starts to revolve in my mind, I just have to remember the reason why I’m doing it, to get some motivation back.

Once I have my goal defined, (I have a reason to do something), then I set in my mind the idea that quitting is not going to be an option. In that way I force myself to stick to that objective and to be open to new ideas and solutions when problems appear. As I wrote in my previous post, I believe that for any goal you set, hard work, training and perseverance will get you there.

Yes, it was hard to learn step dance, and I wanted to quit more than twice; fortunately I stayed long enough to learn more than the basics and now I have a great time and a great workout in each class.

But it is the habit of breaking my goal in smaller objectives what usually helps me the most.

Loosing 50 pounds in a short period of time is a really big challenge, (and probably not so healthy anyway). But lots of people make the new year resolution to loose weight, and usually they start by working out every day for the first two weeks and feel very discouraged about not seeing big changes in such a short time.

I know that if I’d do that, by the second week I would feel that I can’t keep that pace any longer and of course, since I wouldn’t have achieved my goal, quitting would sound as the best idea ever and would even question myself about what I was thinking when I set up such a goal anyway.

Probably a better plan to follow would be to focus first on creating the habit of going to the gym or exercising twice a week, and putting little attention or interest to the weight for now. Once going to the gym is a given, you will also be in a better physical condition to increase the time or frequency of your workouts and to attain the final result you are looking for: loose weight.

As my Yoga instructor frequently points out: “Focus on the steps and the outcome will come”. Meaning that it doesn’t matter if you loose your balance while trying a pose; if you keep practicing you will be able to do it and also to hold the pose for a long time. Meanwhile, because you are being careful and taking care of the process, you will have the best results you can create at that moment.

So, my advice for success is, first to define your goal; then set your mind to the idea that quitting is not an option, (stick with it); and finally, set up a plan of small objectives that eventually will get you there.

Yoga Class at a Gym Category:Gyms_and_Health_Clubs

Do you have any tips that constantly help you to reach your goals?.

Today, I will leave wishing you success in everything you do.

This entry was posted in Success and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tips For Success

  1. l0ve0utl0ud says:

    This post comes at a perfect time for me – I am currently doing a writing challenge, in which I wake up at 6AM every morning to write. It’s not easy and I’m asking myself why I decided to do this. Your post has reminded me that the challenge serves a purpose and will help me reach an objective: to write every day. Thank you for the reminder!

  2. Pingback: Making Things Happen | 52 Days of Sunshine

Share With Me:

