Perseverance, Stick With It!

Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t – you are right.- Henry Ford”.

This is one of my favorite quotes, and I like it so much, because I totally agree that sometimes our way of thinking is the first challenge we need to overcome to get where we want to be.

Boston Marathon 2009 at the halfway point comi...I usually consider myself as shy and insecure, and when I achieve something, (like when I learned to drive, gave birth to a kid, or when I had to give a speech); I’m really impressed that I was able to do it. (Those things were my greatest fears when I was in my twenties).

So, how did I get confident about the things that I was so fearful about?.

As I wrote before, while I was a teenager, I had a really hard time trying to figure out what I will be doing when I grow up. Then I realized that maybe is not that I have a passion for cooking, or I’m particularly athletic, or I’m a loving and patient mom or wife, but I have the talent of perseverance. I usually set a goal and stick with it long enough to get rid of the chore and never have to think about it again.

Well, maybe is not only that I set a goal, sometimes in life you just have to do some things you don’t want or like. For example, in High school I had drawing as a core subject and I have to say that I wasn’t good at it, but I had no option than to take the class. So I was there, always on time and putting all the effort I could. I worked hard on all the projects and finally, I got the minimum grade to pass it. That day I was so happy and proud of myself (even is the lowest grade I have ever had). I succeed in that subject that was so difficult for me, and then I avoided anything that was related with it.

Of course I’m not saying that if something is not for you have to stay there and do a job you don’t like. What I’m saying is that you should do your best and work hard while you are in it, but try to find a way to change the situation you are not happy about, generally when quitting is not an option, your mind is open to new ideas and solutions.

I always tell my kids, that they have to end what they have started. One time they wanted to try gymnastics, and they didn’t like it, so I told them that since they were enrolled for 10 classes, they had to finish that period and then they didn’t have to come back ever again.

Another time one of them wanted to try violin lessons, and after a month she wanted to drop them. Same rule applied, the season was for six months, and she stuck with it. I guess I’m lucky that they agree with me that finishing what you started is a valid argument to stay, even you are not excited about it anymore.

For all of those who seem to have a hard time finding their talents, there is always the option to ask ourselves not only “What I am good at?”, but also “What would I like to be good at?”.

The way to get where you want to be, doesn’t depends only on a hit or good luck, perseverance and hard work are needed too. Maybe some of us need to work harder than others to get to the same place, but all of us can develop the skills we need, regardless of our talents. With time, disposition to learn, and some practice, we can accomplish what we set our minds for.

Books to be returned...

This entry was posted in Success and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Perseverance, Stick With It!

  1. l0ve0utl0ud says:

    You’re right – your post reminds me of one of my favourite quotes: “God gives talent. Work transforms talent into genius.” – Anna Pavlova

  2. Pingback: Tips For Success | 52 Days of Sunshine

Share With Me:

